Beberapa hari yang lalu tiba2 saya dapat email berkaitan dengan domain perusahaan tempat saya bekerja, isinya sebagai berikut:
——————————————-
Dear Principal,
We are an organization specified at dealing with domain name dispute and registration in HongKong,we have something important on intellectual property right need to confirm with your company.
On 5 Nov.,2008, we received a formal application from a company called “Cromeation International Holdings Ltd”, who are applying to register “xxxxxx” (domain saya samarkan yah) as their domain names in some countries and Internet brand name .
During our preliminary investigation, we found that the keyword is identical with your trademark. I wonder whether you have consigned Cromeation International Holdings Ltd to register these domain names through us. If you do not have idea on them, we doubt their motivation to purchase these domain names. Now we have postponed this issue and have not proceeded in their registration. In order to deal with it better, please ask the responsible person to contact me as soon as possible.
possible.
Best Regards,
Robert
Manager of Auditing Department
——————————————-
Tentau saja saya menjawab ke “Robert” itu bahwa domain xxxxxx itu sudah dibeli perusahaan saya dan tidak ada niat kami untuk menjual domain itu. Besoknya saya mendapat jawaban sebagai berikut:
——————————————-
Dear sir,
Thanks for your timely reply.We are government authorized domain registration organization, So it is our obligation to inform you the case, we must confirm
the relationship between your company and Cromeation company.
If you have no relationship with them. According to our working experience, there are 2 possibilities:
1. Cromeation company is a domain name investment company, they want to register these names before you and sell back to you to gain profits.
2. It may be a commercial method, Cromeation company is consigned by your competitor to register, make your clients confused.
We knew you have registered the domain name ”xxxxxx” and own the intellectual property, this is why we informed you. But now
Cromeation company do not want to register your trademark or domain name ”xxxxxx“, they wanted to apply for
other domain names and Internet
trademark you have not registered yet. the domain names which they applied are listed below:
xxxxxx.info
xxxxxx.asia
xxxxxx.mobi
xxxxxx.jp
xxxxxx.hk
xxxxxx.tw
xxxxxx.com.tw
xxxxxx.cn
xxxxxx.com.cn
and Internet trademark: xxxxxx
Because domain name takes open registration, this is international domain name registration principle. So Cromeation company has right to register it. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. So required by government to inform your company
to protect your interest.
If you don’t think their application will affect your benefit,or you don’t have the desire to protect these domain
names, we will pass their application. Hope you can give me your decision ASAP. So that we can handle the next step.
Best Regards,
Robert Ma
——————————————-
Dan saya menjawab bahwa saya tidak mau mem-”protect” domain2 itu. Domain yang kami miliki itu saja sudah cukup … bla.. bla.. bla.. dan mengignore email2 lanjutannya.
Anyway, hati2 kalau menerima email sejenis ini karena ini adalah SCAM. Kalau anda terjebak, maka anda akan diharuskan membeli domain2 yang mungkin tidak anda perlukan dengan harga tertentu. Ada yang mengatakan bahwa biasanya email2 ini berasal dari Asia.. entahlah.
Btw, Internet Trademark itu tidak ada. Trademark memang ada, tapi perlu didaftarkan dan dimanage secara berbeda di masing-masing negara. Jadi tidak global.
Selain itu, search engine seperti Yahoo dan Google menggunakan metode Hypertext Macthing Analysis dan pagerank daripada memperhatikan “Internet Trademark”.
Thanks to Abdul Azis atas pencerahannya
Lumayan banyak pengetahuan yang sudah dishare tanpa disadari.
Comments